Michigan Section PGA 2017 Awards

Kevin McKinley

And the winners are …

Golf Professional of the Year: Kevin McKinley, Golf Director at Treetops Resort.  This prestigious honor is awarded by peers to the golf professional that has demonstrated outstanding qualities of leadership and strong moral character. Additionally, McKinley won the national PGA of America Patriot Award. This honor goes to a PGA Professional who embodies patriotism and shows dedication to the men and women who have served in the United States Armed Forces.

Teacher of the Year: Jason Guss, Director of Instruction at Jason Guss Golf Academy

Player Development Award: Dean Marks, Golf Director at Milham Park Golf Course

Assistant Golf Professional of the Year: Rocky Mullendore, Assistant Professional at Travis Pointe Country Club

Horton Smith Award (outstanding contributions to professional education): Aaron Waltz, Association Golf Administrator at Ferris State University’s PGA Golf Management Program

Bill Strausbaugh Award (distinguished efforts in mentoring their fellow PGA Professionals): Jeff O’Malley, General Manager at Pilgrim’s Run Golf Club

Youth Player Development Award: Scott Wilson, PGA Teaching Professional at Bay Meadows Family Golf Course

Merchandiser of the Year for public golf facilities: Ian Ziska, Head Professional at Katke Golf Course at Ferris State University

Merchandiser of the Year for private golf facilities: Jeremy Lathwell, Head Professional at Walnut Creek Country Club

Merchandiser of the Year for resort golf facilities: Zack Chapin, Head Professional at Arcadia Bluffs Golf Club. Additionally, Chapin won the same award at the PGA of America level, giving the Michigan PGA Section two national winners (with McKinley).

Patriot Award (personifying patriotism through the game of golf): Doug Bell, General Manager at Manistee National Golf and Resort

Top 10 Teachers in Michigan, 2017 (from Golf Digest, as picked by their peers):

  1. Jason Guss (Jason Guss Academy at Hawk Hollow, Bath)
  2. Adam Schriber (LochenHeath, Williamsburg)
  3. Brandon Roby (Cascade Hills, Grand Rapids)
  4. Dave Kendall (Kendall Academy, Ypsilanti)
  5. Paul Haase (Kendall Academy, Ypsilanti)
  6. Gary Bissell (Meadows Golf Academy, Allendale)
  7. Chris Mory (Jason Guss Academy at Hawk Hollow, Bath)
  8. Charley VanDenBerg (Thousand Oaks Golf Academy, Grand Rapids)
  9. Nick Pumford (Oakland University, Auburn Hills)
  10. Lynn Janson (Hastings CC)


Previous «
Next »

To Receive Michigan Golf Journal Via Email Each Month, Enter Your Information Below